Are you working for free and don’t know it yet?

What a strange title.  

What do you mean that I could be possibly be working for free and not know it?  That’s impossible you say.  

Let me introduce you into the darker side of being a blogger or blog owner.  

Things you may want to know…

Over 50% of reporters look at blogs. Well, they are just getting some ideas you say.  Yes, that maybe partly true, but not so fast….

Quote from a reporter “I can take any information from a blog, transform it into a story with my own words and the blogger would never know the difference.”  So here you are posting stuff, commenting about everything, chatting to fellow bloggers and having a great time.  And…in the background lurks the reporter who may be transforming words into tomorrows news. A sentence here, a sentence there.  There is one big difference though, the reporter gets paid, the blogger doesn’t.  This is how you can be working for free and don’t know it.          

What you can do….

Nothing much, as it would be very hard to prove unless someone used a lot of your words, word for word. But…at least you are aware that it can and does happen sometimes.  Does every reporter do this? Probably not, but there is almost a million reporters worldwide, so you never know who may be doing what, when and in what country.   

Think twice before publishing something in cyberspace.

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pat bell
    May 07, 2008 @ 20:56:53

    interesting. I finally find the infamous real estate blogger coco’s site. only a million reporters world wide hey? seems a rather small amount

  2. coconews
    May 07, 2008 @ 21:08:19

    Hi, Pat

    Glad to see you here. Welcome.

    Too bad my link from that other blog was replaced in less than 24 hours with someone else’s. I was never going to stop blogging, just quitting that type of blogging for a multitude of reasons.

    Anyway, if people ask, you know where to find me.

  3. coconews
    May 08, 2008 @ 05:51:21

    What do you think of reporters taking your comments and transforming them into tomorrows news? Unfortunately, only the reporter will get the credit, not the blog or blogger they took the information from.

    Some reporters mention blogs and certain bloggers that is great, but it is the opportunistic ones that may make you think twice about what your publishing out there in cyberspace.

    Has someone taken something you published? Twisted your words, etc.?

  4. Larry Yatkowsky
    May 08, 2008 @ 08:25:51

    Coco,

    Suspicious Observation:

    Many bloggers do the same to the reporters.

    There may be balance and harmony in world after all.

    I’m just sayin……

  5. coconews
    May 08, 2008 @ 08:31:17

    That is why I always insisted that people respect material by posting the headline and url’s link to articles only, rather than copying the articles themselves or parts of article onto a blog.

    One time a blogger copied a paragraph they found in an article onto my old blog and unfortunately, I was busy that day and didn’t catch it right away. The site they copied the information from ended up blocking me from their site because the blogger decided to recopy material without their permission onto a public blog.

    But…copycats are another “things you may want to know” subject, that I will talk more about in the future.

  6. GM
    May 08, 2008 @ 10:05:39

    Plagarism sucks, but if a reporter is reading blogs, and then constructs her report based off of them, I’m not sure how that is any different than research. Frankly, I’m glad to hear that reporters are reading blogs! I’ve gotten so much more information from them than from MSM. The MSM is constantly delivering a rear view mirror approach, and that’s really not good enough. I would love to see more reporters being influenced by the blogs! It’s actually a compliment that they are searching for info here. That said, thieves are thieves, and no one should take undue advantage of hard-working bloggers.

  7. solipsist
    May 08, 2008 @ 23:15:03

    Glad to see you back in biz coco! May I redirect your old link to here?

    It is funny, because I often see a quirky turn of phrase that reads like my own in other places, but I just put it down to the zeitgeist.

    For me, I write because I like to, and don’t much care about the pay. I kind of agree with Larry up above – I often quote articles (with links), and proceed to disparage the source in some way (only the pumpers).

    Sometimes I feel shame.

    Mostly, not.

    I like the new blog a lot!

  8. Annon
    May 09, 2008 @ 03:25:21

    Isn’t it once a popular saying about internet “so much information but so little truth”?

  9. coconews
    May 09, 2008 @ 07:09:35

    Solipsist,
    Sure you can change the link and redirect the traffic here.

    Sorry, I didn’t swing by to mention it. I have been very busy personally, plus setting up a new blog with a new format takes time too.

    The good thing about this blog is that I can cover a wide range of topics and give people information that may help them in life. I know some people preferred the news link blog, but as soon as the economy slows, what are you going to talk about? The economy is bad…when will it get better? Boring. Zzzzzz!

    Annon,
    My goal of this blog is undiscovered truths that may help people out in life.

  10. michaelprocopio
    May 11, 2008 @ 19:16:58

    Hey there…

    I’m just surprised that my own post made the randomly-generated “possibly related” list.

    Interesting piece. And now I am mildy paranoid.

  11. coconews
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 21:37:18

    Blog Trivia…
    Of all the posts, this thread is the most read and the most popular thread on this blog.

  12. Kirsten Mason
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 13:07:54

    There is nothing you can do about it unfortunately. After a reporter reads a number of blogs and creates his or her story it’s based on research. Plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

